Algerian Riyad Mahrez wins African Player of the Year 2016

Latest Lifestyles Popular News Sports Trending

Algerian winger Riyad Mahrez emerged as the 2016 African Player of the Year at the GLO-CAF awards staged in Abuja, the Nigerian capital.

Mahrez, 25 of the English premiership side Leicester City was declared winner.  He has become the first Algerian and North African to win the prestigious individual honour in African football since its inception by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in 1992.

He defeated the previous winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Senegalese forward, Sadio Mane.

Ugandan goalkeeper Denis Onyango won African Player of the Year – Based in Africa 2016 award. Onyango, 31, became the first goalkeeper to win the award reserved for players who practise their trade on the continent.

South African club Mamelodi Sundowns was voted the Club of the Year.

Nigeria forward Asisat Oshoala was named Women’s Player of the Year, her second glory after 2014 in Lagos.

Nigerian strikers Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi won the Most Promising Talent and Youth Player of the Year awards respectively.

The winners of all the categories were decided by votes from the Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Media Committee, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a 20-member panel of experts, according to CAF.

The following is the full list of award winners:

African Player of the Year

  1. Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

  1. Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Women’s player of the Year

Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Most Promising Talent

Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Youth Player of the Year

Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Coach of the Year

Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns

National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Referee of the Year

Bakary Papa GASSAMA (Gambia)

Football Leader of the Year

Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Legend Award

Laurent POKOU – Former player of Cote d’Ivoire

Emilienne MBANGO – Former player of Cameroon

Platinum Award

His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Africa Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)


Aymen MATHLOUTHI (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou KOULIBALY (Senegal & Napoli), Salif COULIBALY (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam SLIMANI (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal). ##

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *