Buhari pardons ex-Governors Dariye, Nyame serving jail terms for corruption; 157 others |nigeria news today headlines update today

President Buhari Appoints Edmund Daukoru As Chairman Of NLNG


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the boards of Nigeria Liquified Natural Gas (NLNG) and Bonny Gas Transport Limited (BGT).A statement on Monday by Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva, made the announcement.The new board of the NLNG will now be chaired by Edmund Daukoru.Members are Group Managing Director, Nigerian National Corporation (NNPC), Mele Kyari, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Bitrus Nabasu, Henry lkem-Obih and Rabiu Sulaiman.

Daukoru was also named President of the Board of BST.Members are Doyin Akinyanju, Abdul Abba as well as Kyari and Nabasu.Sylva told the appointees to discharge their responsibilities in line with Buhari’s progressive agenda.President Olusegun Obasanjo, in 2003, appointed Daukoru as Presidential Advisor on Petroleum and Energy.In 2005, Obasanjo elevated him to Minister of State for Energy.Daukoru was Secretary General of the Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) in 2006,In 2018, he became the Amayanabo (traditional ruler) of Nembe Kingdom.However, Ikem-Obih was a former NNPC Chief Operating Officer, Downstream.Similarly, Sulaiman was a one-time NNPC Group Executive Director