HOSTCOM inaugurates new executive members


National Leadership of Host Communities of Nigeria Producing Oil and Gas (HOSTCOM), has inaugurated a 45-man committee to oversee its affairs in Anambra State over the next four years

The committee led by Mr Victor Emeka, Chairman; Mr Henry Ugbomah, Vice-Chairman; Mr Ojone Amos, Secretary-General and Prof Ogugua Ikpeze, State Woman Leader.

The committee members were inaugurated in Awka on Aug. 4.

In a speech at the ceremony, HOSTCOM National Chairman, Dr Benjamin Tamaranebi said the group came into existence 18 years ago to serve as a bridge between Oil & Gas companies and host communities.

They were also tasked to ensure equitable distribution of 13 per cent oil derivation funds to oil and gas producing communities.

Dr Tamaranebi said that the communities in the Niger Delta region were suffering as a result of oil and gas explorations.

He stressed that the communities were not positively impacted by the 13 per cent derivation payment because of misappropriation of the funds by a few privileged individuals in the region.

“Payment of the 13 per cent derivation to host communities is being hijacked by various state Governors in Niger Delta Region which has amounted not less than N10 trillion.’’

The National Chairman, however, appealed to Government and members of host communities to identify with viable structure set up to tame the menace of crude oil theft and pipeline vandalism.

In a remark, the State Chairman of HOSTCOM, Mr Emeka noted that the declaration of Anambra State as the 10th oil producing state in Nigeria by the, then, President, Dr Goodluck Jonathan on Aug. 30, 2012 was a great privilege, which came with enormous responsibility.

He solicited government support in moving the organisation to greater heights just like other oil producing states.

The pioneer President of the body, Mr Chimzobam Nnalue while rendering an account of his stewardship, pledged to work with the new state executive in achieving its set goals.

Some members of the public were presented with Awards of Honour; notable among them include Gov Willie Obiano as Grand Patron and his wife Mrs Ebelechukwu Obiano as Patroness of the body.

Dignitaries at the event are Igwe Chris Onyekwuluje of Umunya, Igwe Ben Emeka of Umueri, government functionaries.