others bag Triathlon appointment as Executive Committee Members |nigeria news today headlines update today

Nezianya, others bag Triathlon appointment as Executive Committee Members, Trustees

By Danjuma Akins,

The newly elected Executive Board of the Nigerian Triathlon Union (NTU) has approved the re-appointment of one of its founding Executive Committee members. He is Mr Tony Obiora Nezianya.

A statement signed by the Secretary-General of the Union in Lagos, Mrs Comfort Obot Nwankwo said the decision to reappoint, Mr Tony Nezianya was reached by the Executive Board at its inaugural meeting held recently in Lagos.

It said as you know, “Triathlon, a sport on an Olympic Programme is an endurance multipurpose sport, comprising three in one sport — swimming, biking and running over various distances.

The federation was incorporated in 2006 and since then had been poised to take the sport to the nooks and crannies of Nigeria.

“By this appointment, therefore, we are confident that as a founding member of the Union, you will bring your deep knowledge and invaluable experience to bear on this assignment.

Nezianya, a well-known member of the sports writing fraternity had for terms served had served on the Executive Board of the Nigeria Olympic Committee, where he was Public Relations Officer (PRO) of the Committee.

He was a former Executive Committee, Member of the Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN), and former Executive Committee Member of the Nigerian Wrestling Federation.

Nezianya also served as Senior Special Assistant (SSA), Media in the immediate past Government of Anambra State. A retired Director in the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

The Board of the NTU comprises:

The President:

Prince Wale Oladunjoye

Ist Vice President:

Mrs lze Matebese

2nd Vice President:

Dr (Mrs) Esther Oluwatoyin Aluko


Mrs Comfort Obot Nwankwo

Deputy Secretary-General:

Chief Mrs Rall Abdulsalam

Executive Treasurer:

Engr. (Mrs) Priscilla N Iroaganachi

Vice President Athletics:

Prof. Tunde Makanju

VP Medical:

Bashorun (Dr.) Harry Ladapo

VP Marketing/Sponsorships

Mr Abiona Babarinde

VP Cycling/Technical:

Director Mr Bashir Mohammed

VP Aquatics/Deputy Technical Director:

Mr Emmanuel Emmefuna

Executive Committee Members:

Mr Henry Ezike

Dr Elechukwu Oyudo

Mr Tony Nezianya

CSP Chijioke Kalu

National Chief Coach:

Kamoli Lekan Amao

Public Relations Officer:

Mr Adeyinka Adedipe

Assistant Public Relations Officer:

Mr Wale Adigun

Athletes Representative:

Mr Perelate Gbagi


Mr Tunde Fatayi-Williams
Mr Banji Oladapo

Mrs Marie Fatayi Williams
Dr (Mrs) Gloria Obajimi

The Honorary Life President:

Dr Lanre Glover.

%d bloggers like this: